Gluten-free Vegan TACO PIZZA!!

DSC_1118

I have fond childhood memories of times at the beach in gulf shores Alabama with relatives and family….. long days on the beach making sand castles, jumping waves….. showering off and peeling seaweed out of my swimsuit…. followed by Godfather’s taco pizza before another late night swim session in the pool. Good times.

The other day my husband said, “I think you should make a taco pizza…. I really like taco pizza.” and I said, “Yeah…. but I don’t know how I’d make a vegan taco pizza that’s still gluten-free.” And the conversation ended there.
DSC_1119 And THEN…. I discovered that at a different grocery store I usually don’t shop at…. Gardein sells a gluten-free beefless ground. (And I found it on a buy one get one free sale for the extra win.)

We tried it hot, we tried it cold, we tried it with sauce, without, with dairy-free sour cream, without….. and while my husband’s favorite way was with dairy-free sour cream while it was hot….. I really liked it best cold no sour cream. I think I just like cold left over pizza though, the flavors have time to meld better or something. Anyway, he gives it two thumbs up, It was close enough to the real deal that it brought up my memories of the beach and the smell of salty sea water….

so here goes: DSC_1116

Crust:
Follow the recipe here, but in place of oregano and basil, add in chilli powder and cumin…. and go ahead and add in a 1tsp of xanthan…. it gets pretty heavy with all the toppings on there!

Sauce:

TACO PIZZA SAUCE:

3/4 C pizza sauce (recipe below)
3/4 C taco sauce
1/4 C refried beans
1 tsp cumin
1 TBLS Chili powder
1 TBLS paprika
1/2 tsp salt
Mix it all up!!

***This is my recipe for a base pizza sauce: enough for two 14″ pizzas

12 oz tomato paste
1 1/4 cup water
1/8 cup vegetable oil
1-2 TBLS raw sugar
2 TBLS ground flax
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp basil
1/2 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder

MIX TOGETHER!

Prepare the beefless ground by heating up in a skillet with about a 1/4 cup of water, 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp onion powder, 1 tsp cumin, 1 TBLS chili powder, and 1 TBLS paprika.

On your baked pizza crust, generously spread the taco pizza sauce, then a layer of daiya cheddar cheeze, a layer of the beefless ground, and another layer of daiya cheeze. Bake for 12mins at 400*.

After baking, top with some shredded lettuce, chopped tomatoes and peppers, sliced olives, and a little more cheese…. and if you like it extra spicy, drizzle more taco sauce on the top! (and there is always the option of adding some dairy-free sour cream!)

DSC_1120Hope you give it a try and enjoy it!!

DSC_1117

Leave a Reply

