Birthday Cake! (Gluten-free, Vegan)

I have made this cake…. oh…. 4 times this summer? Yes. I have. And I can tell you…. it works. YOU can bake a gluten-free AND vegan layered birthday cake. AND you can frost it! How cool is that? I have had friends, family, neighbors….. all try this cake and join us in various celebrations and have yet to have anyone say, “Yes, I can totally tell this is gluten free.” In fact…. all these people who are not on a crazy diet like me…. think it tastes just like cake, and they like it. I can tell….. but I’ve also baked a lot of cakes, lol. But it works, serves it’s purpose, and doesn’t make me sick…. so I will keep on baking this cake!
DSC_0993 DSC_0933 DSC_0911 DSC_0921 DSC_0923 DSC_0926 DSC_0927

So, the recipe is HERE from this wonderful lady….  I make a few changes…. mostly because I like to have quite a few flour varieties…. so I do 1/2 cup Sorghum, 1/2 brown rice, 1/2 cup sweet rice. (In place of the 1 1/2 cups brown rice.) and in place of applesauce…. I use 1 large banana. And then I also toss in about 1-2 TBLS of ground flax for good measure.

I prepare my pans with crisco (not the best stuff in the world…. but it serves it’s purpose for lining cake pans.) and then flour the pans with rice flour. (make sure to tap all the way around so every bit of that crisco is covered and every interior surface is covered. Then…. after I bake, let it cool for about 10mins…. then flip out the cake onto a cooling rack. I have yet to have one NOT come out cleanly or break on me, they’ve all cooperated. Then, after about 30mins, I move my cooling rack to the freezer to speed the process…. I am usually on a time restriction and need to get frosting.

For frosting….. let’s just make this easy on everyone. I can look up a frosting recipe in any book or anywhere and adapt it. And so can you. Use Earthbalance in place of butter. Crisco if you absolutely feel it’s necessary for shortening…. like it’s 90* in your house or something….. and if it’s maybe not 90* but 80*…. I add in a little coconut oil to make sure my frosting doesn’t melt off. Any milk it calls for, I use soy or almond…. maybe even coconut. That’s it. Just get the consistency right. I usually add a pinch of salt to my frostings to cut the sweetness a bit…. but I mean…. it’s one of the easier things to do. 😉

Now…. go bake a birthday cake!!!

DSC_0995

Leave a Reply

