Chocolate Chunk Cookies…. gluten-free and vegan of course!

ImageIt all began with one question….. can I make a dairy free milk chocolate? And indeed…. I can! A while ago I was discussing with someone that I wanted to try making my own chocolate… but once the dairy had to go from my diet I wasn’t sure what to do. I myself enjoy dark chocolate, but my husband and kids don’t…. and either I make stuff all for them and do not partake, OR find a solution to the problem. You can purchase dairy free chocolate chips… usually they are semi-sweet… and usually cost about $5/ bag. I’m fairly budget conscious and those two things made chocolate chips seem out of reach. But…. then I got the itch…. the burning desire to overcome… the curiosity too strong to be quenched. And I ordered some cocoa butter…. bought some natural cocoa…. and found (after a great deal of searching locally) some soy milk powder. (There was another dairy free milk powder option, but I didn’t know what half the ingredient list was and it was a long list, so I decided to go with soy.)

So, chocolate came first. I used “weight” format for some because it was easier with the cocoa butter and powdered sugar…..

In a double boiler melt the cocoa butter. Add the cocoa and mix til completely disolved. Add the salt. Then add in the soy milk powder and lastly the sugar. Remove from heat. Cover a pan with wax paper, pour chocolate onto wax paper and chill in the fridge until solid. Break into chunks to use in baking…. or pour the chocolate into molds and make non-dairy milk chocolate bars!

100grams cocoa butter
6 TBLS natural cocoa
2 pinches of salt
4 TBLS soy milk powder
100 grams powdered sugar

ImageOnce I had the Chocolate Chunks…. I was ready to put them into a recipe!
So, the Chocolate Chunk Cookie was put to the test… and turned out AMAZING!!!

ImageImage Here is the Recipe:
Preheat oven to 375*.  In a mixing bowl beat the margarine, oil, and sugars. Add in the baking soda and salt. Mix in the Flax Eggs and vanilla. Add in the different flours 1/4C at a time. Add in the chocolate chunks just until incorporated into the dough.  Drop onto cookie sheet and place in the oven for 8mins. Remove from oven, allow to cool for a few minutes. Remove cookies from pan with a spatula and let cool on a baking rack. They will be gooey when they are warm and fall apart easily, but once cooled they are divine!! Eat them with a glass of non-dairy milk!!

Ingredients:
3/4 C Earth Balance
1/4 C Vegetable Oil
2/3 C Brown Sugar
1/3 C Granulated Sugar
1 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp Salt
2 Flax Eggs (4 TBLS water, 2 TBLS Ground Flax mix and let sit til consistency of egg whites)
1 tsp Vanilla
3/4 C buckwheat flour
3/4 C Brown Rice Flour
1/4 C Chickpea Flour
1/2C Potato Starch
1/4C Tapioca Starch
2 C Diary-free Milk Chocolate Chunks

Image

Leave a Reply

