Deviled Tomatoes

So, I went through my pinterest boards and deleted all the old recipes and food ideas that no longer apply to my life. It wasn’t sad… I’m okay with it. I’ve come to accept I will never again (intentionally) eat gluten. (thank celiac for that). And that I would rather be migraine and daily headache free and will not miss dairy…. and that I enjoy not having an upset stomach all the time and there is no earthly reason to add eggs to anything….. so…. I started new boards, new ideas to fill up my thoughts with.

Today’s revelation came when I was making lunch. I timed it by the way…. it took 16 mins from starting to make a vegan “egg” salad, to wrapping it up and eating it on lettuce leaves with the kids, to looking thoughtfully at my tomatoes, to executing the thought, to taking the pic. So, vegan egg salad comes together quite quickly in comparison to having to boil eggs if you have things prepared ahead of time. I had made this on Friday…. so I had the cashew based “mayo” ready to go, and last night I was working on a hummus recipe using chickpea flour and cooked it too long and it got quite firm…. so… I decided it would be chickpea tofu! And it worked.

Here are my “deviled tomatoes” they would make such a cute little appetizer for a party or a potluck…. and in a few more months we will certainly have loads of tomatoes to use up! So, I’m not really into typing up recipes… I just like to use them as a jumping off point… but the gist of this is, crumble up tofu, add some mayo, add some mustard, add some celery, some peppers, some onion powder, some garlic powder, some chili powder, some cumin, some paprika, salt to taste, scoop out some tomato halves lengthwise (either large grape or small romas) fill them, and sprinkle the top with some paprika aaaaand serve. šŸ˜‰ Image

Leave a Reply

